

## **State of Maine**Office of the Secretary of State

## Application for a Marriage Officiant License

## **OFFICE USE ONLY**

Marriage Officiant License #:

License issued:

Please read these instructions carefully before completing this application. The applicant must complete this entire application and all questions must be answered completely.

Legal Name of applicant (first, middle, last, suffix)	(Type or print name)
Address of applicant:	Date of Birth:
Home Address [Physical location - street, city/town, state, and zip code]:	Contact Information:
Mailing Address (if different)	E-mail address:
I certify that the information contained in this app below are complete to the best of my knowledge and t	plication is true and correct; that the answers to the questions
Signature of Applicant	, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Printed Name of Applicant	

1. To qualify for a marriage officiant license, you must be: (check all that apply)	2. How many witnesses are required to sign the marriage license?
<ul> <li>□ A notary public</li> <li>□ At least 18 years of age</li> <li>□ A Maine resident</li> <li>□ An ordained minister</li> </ul>	□ 1 □ 2 □ 3 □ 4
<ul> <li>3. Who can issue a Maine marriage license to a Maine resident? (check all that apply)</li> <li>☐ The municipal clerk where either party resides</li> <li>☐ The state registrar</li> <li>☐ The marriage officiant</li> <li>☐ The Secretary of State</li> </ul>	<ul> <li>4. Who can issue a Maine marriage license to a nonresident? (check all that apply)</li> <li>☐ The municipal clerk of any town or city</li> <li>☐ The state registrar</li> <li>☐ The marriage officiant</li> <li>☐ The Secretary of State</li> </ul>
<ul><li>5. A marriage license is valid for 90 days.</li><li>□ True</li><li>□ False</li></ul>	<ul><li>6. A witness must be 18 years of age or older.</li><li>☐ True</li><li>☐ False</li></ul>
7. What is required to be provided to the marriage officiant before the marriage can be solemnized? (check all that apply)  ☐ A valid marriage license ☐ Identification of the parties ☐ At least two witnesses ☐ All the above	<ul> <li>8. Who must the completed marriage license be filed with?</li> <li>The state registrar or municipal clerk who issued the license</li> <li>The Secretary of State</li> <li>The clerk of court</li> <li>The marriage officiant retains the marriage license</li> </ul>
<ul> <li>9. It is a conflict of interest for a marriage officiant to solemnize a marriage for a family member.</li> <li>□ True</li> <li>□ False</li> </ul>	<ul> <li>10. How many days does a marriage officiant have to notify the Secretary of State of any changes to their name or contact information?</li> <li>□ 20 days</li> <li>□ 30 days</li> <li>□ 45 days</li> <li>□ 60 days</li> </ul>

11. When completing a marriage license, what color ink pen should you use?	marriage license? (check all that apply)
<ul> <li>□ Red ink</li> <li>□ Blue ink</li> <li>□ Black ink</li> <li>□ None of the above</li> </ul>	<ul> <li>□ At the time of issuance</li> <li>□ In the presence of the marriage officiant at the time the marriage is solemnized</li> <li>□ The parties to be married do not have to sign the license</li> <li>□ After the license has been recorded with the municipality that issued it</li> </ul>
<ul><li>13. The Secretary of State may suspend or revoke a marriage officiant's license for failure to comply with the laws or rules of this state.</li><li>☐ True</li><li>☐ False</li></ul>	<ul><li>14. A marriage officiant must retain a record of all marriages solemnized.</li><li>☐ True</li><li>☐ False</li></ul>
<ul> <li>15. Who must return the completed marriage license for recording once the marriage is solemnized?</li> <li>□ A family member of the parties united in marriage</li> <li>□ One of the parties united in marriage</li> <li>□ The marriage officiant who solemnized the marriage</li> <li>□ None of the above</li> </ul>	<ul> <li>16. How many days are allowed for the completed marriage license to be returned for filing?</li> <li>☐ 14 working days</li> <li>☐ 30 working days</li> <li>☐ 7 working days</li> <li>☐ None of the above</li> </ul>
Application Fee: \$25.00  Please remit your payment made payable to the Treasurer, S  Secretary of State Division of Corporations, UCC 101 State House Station	

Email Inquiries: CEC.Notaries@Maine.gov

Telephone Inquiries: (207) 624-7752

Augusta, ME 04333-0101